Home / First aid and protection

Gas masks for emergency preparedness: what to check

By the Plain Prepper editors. Updated 2026-10-14.

We research products from makers' specs, manuals and safety agencies; we do not run hands-on tests. Links to Amazon may earn us a commission at no cost to you. How this works.

Quick answer

A gas mask is a full facepiece respirator that filters air through a cartridge or canister. It does not supply oxygen. Check the approval first. NIOSH approves CBRN respirators for chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear hazards, marked "CBRN" with a capacity level on the label, and CBRN canisters are olive. The 3M 6800 full facepiece is NIOSH approved with 3M cartridges for many gases, vapors and particles, but not for IDLH or oxygen-deficient air. MIRA Safety's CM-6M meets the European EN 136 Class III standard in its Czech model only. MIRA says its U.S.-assembled version is not yet NIOSH or CE certified. In a real chemical release, Ready.gov's first advice is to get to clean air or shelter in place.

What a gas mask can and cannot do

A mask filters the air you breathe through a cartridge or canister. It cannot make oxygen. NIOSH says CBRN air-purifying respirators must not be used in oxygen-deficient atmospheres. 3M says its 6000 Series full facepiece is not for environments that are immediately dangerous to life or health (IDLH) or oxygen deficient. Filters also wear out. NIOSH says CBRN air-purifying respirators should not be used beyond 8 hours after first exposure to vapor chemical warfare agents.

For households, a mask is a backup to a plan, not the plan. Ready.gov's chemical guidance centers on evacuating upwind when told to, or sheltering in an interior room with doors, windows and vents sealed, and listening to local officials.

Approvals: NIOSH, CBRN and CE

MarkingWhat it means
NIOSH approvedU.S. approval of the facepiece and cartridges as a system. 3M says its 6000 Series full facepieces are NIOSH approved with its 6000 cartridges and 2000, 5000 and 7000 filters.
NIOSH CBRNApproval for chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear hazards. NIOSH says the full label shows "CBRN" with a capacity level such as Cap 1, and CBRN canisters are olive.
CE, EN 136 Class IIIA European full-face mask standard. MIRA says its Czech-made CM-6M is CE certified to EN 136:1998 Class III.

NIOSH also warns that using components not listed on a respirator's full approval label puts it outside its approval. Mixing a cartridge from one brand with a mask from another is not covered by either approval.

Cartridges vs 40 mm threaded filters

Match the filter to the hazard. A P100 particle filter alone does nothing against gases or vapors. Check the cartridge label for the specific gases it is approved for.

Two masks by the specs

3M 6800 (6000 Series)MIRA Safety CM-6M
ApprovalNIOSH, with 3M cartridges and filtersCE, EN 136:1998 Class III (Czech model only). U.S.-assembled version not yet NIOSH or CE certified.
Sizes6700 small, 6800 medium, 6900 largeSee maker
Filter mountBayonet, two cartridgesDual 40 mm ports
LensPolycarbonate, ANSI Z87.1 high impactPolycarbonate, EN 168 impact
Seal materialSilicone facesealBromobutyl rubber
DrinkingNoneIntegrated system with 900 ml canteen
Shelf lifeNot statedTwenty years (mask)
WeightAbout 411 g (0.9 lb) facepieceNot stated
WarrantySee maker5 years

3M says its facepieces are rated up to 10 times the OSHA permissible exposure limit when qualitatively fit tested, and up to 50 times when quantitatively fit tested, with approved 3M cartridges and filters.

Fit, practice and storage

What to look for when you buy

NIOSH-approved full facepiece respirator (example: 3M 6800, medium)

Best for: Vapors, acid gases and dust with matched 3M cartridges

3M lists NIOSH approval with its 6000 cartridges and 2000, 5000 and 7000 filters, a silicone faceseal, ANSI Z87.1 high impact lens and three sizes.

Watch out: Not CBRN rated. Not for IDLH or oxygen-deficient air. Fit matters.

See options on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

Multi-gas/vapor cartridges with P100 (example: 3M 60926)

Best for: Pairing with a 3M full facepiece for mixed gases and particles

3M's data sheet lists the 60926 as multi-gas/vapor plus a P100 particle filter, with more hazard classes checked than any other cartridge in its table.

Watch out: Replace on the schedule in the instructions or when you smell the contaminant.

See options on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

40 mm full face mask (example: MIRA Safety CM-6M)

Best for: Buyers who want a 40 mm filter mask with a drinking tube

MIRA lists dual 40 mm ports, a 900 ml canteen hydration system, a bromobutyl rubber body, a twenty-year shelf life, EN 168 lens impact and a 5 year warranty.

Watch out: Only the Czech model is CE certified to EN 136. MIRA says the U.S.-assembled version is not yet NIOSH or CE certified. Check which one a listing sells.

See options on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

Questions people ask

Do gas masks protect against everything?
No. They only filter what their cartridge or canister is approved for, and they cannot supply oxygen. NIOSH says CBRN air-purifying respirators must not be used in oxygen-deficient air.
How do I know if a gas mask is NIOSH CBRN approved?
NIOSH says the full approval label lists "CBRN" with a capacity level, such as Cap 1, and CBRN canisters are olive. Components must match the approval label.
What filter thread do gas masks use?
Many use 40 mm threaded filters, like MIRA's CM-6M with dual 40 mm ports. 3M's full facepieces use bayonet cartridges instead.
How long does a gas mask last in storage?
It varies by maker. MIRA lists a twenty-year shelf life for the CM-6M. Check sealed filter dates separately.

Sources

Sources checked 2026-10-14.