Home / Emergency food

Emergency food kits: read the calories, then the days

By the Plain Prepper editors. Updated 2026-10-15.

We research products from makers' specs, manuals and safety agencies; we do not run hands-on tests. Links to Amazon may earn us a commission at no cost to you. How this works.

Quick answer

Emergency food kits are labeled by servings and days, but calories tell you how long they really last. ReadyWise's 72 Hour Food Kit lists 5,460 calories, or 1,820 a day for three days, and needs about 30 cups of water. Its 60 Serving Entree Bucket lists 12,540 calories, about 209 per serving. Mountain House's 30-Day kit lists about 1,732 calories a day. Buy by calories per person per day, then plan the water too.

Kits compared by the makers' own numbers

KitServingsTotal caloriesCalories per servingMaker's per-day figure
ReadyWise 72 Hour Food Kit (RW10-142)305,4601821,820 for 3 days
ReadyWise 60 Serving Entree Bucket6012,540209Not stated
Mountain House Classic Bucket246,140about 256Not stated
Mountain House 30-Day kit90 pouches of 2 servingsNot stated as a totalNot statedAbout 1,732

Calories per serving is plain division of each maker's total by its servings.

Why servings mislead

What is inside, and sizing for a family of four

For four people for three days at ReadyWise's 1,820 calories a day: four 72 Hour kits give 21,840 calories, need about 120 cups (7.5 gallons) of water and weigh about 12 lb. The same family would eat the 60 Serving Entree Bucket's 12,540 calories in about 1.7 days at that rate.

Plan the water before the food

That water is on top of drinking water. Ready.gov suggests stocking foods that need no water or cooking as well, so pair a kit with ready-to-eat staples; see our emergency water storage guide.

Shelf life and storage

Choosing the right kit

  1. Go-bag or car: a light 72-hour box per person.
  2. Home stockpile: entree buckets, then add breakfast and fruit; see our prepper supplies checklist.
  3. Longer outages: a 30-day kit per person, with the water to match.
  4. Diets: check allergens on every pouch; Ready.gov reminds you to plan for special dietary needs and foods your family will eat.

For meal formats such as No. 10 cans and single pouches, see our freeze dried food guide.

What to look for when you buy

Grab-and-go: ReadyWise 72 Hour Food Kit, 30 Servings

Best for: One person's go-bag or car kit

ReadyWise lists 5,460 calories over 3 days (1,820 a day), entrees, breakfast and whey milk in Metallyte pouches, about 30 cups of water, 3 lb and up to 25 years of shelf life.

Watch out: ReadyWise also sells a 36-serving 72-hour kit with different totals; check that the listing says 30 servings.

See options on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

Entree bucket: ReadyWise 60 Serving Entree Bucket

Best for: Building a home supply of hot meals

ReadyWise lists 12,540 calories across ten 6-serving pouches of entrees and soups, a stackable bucket with a handle, hot or cold water prep and up to 25 years of shelf life.

Watch out: About 209 calories per serving; add breakfast foods and water.

See options on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

Fewer, larger meals: Mountain House Classic Assortment Bucket

Best for: Households that want familiar two-serving pouches

Mountain House lists 24 servings in 12 pouches, 6,140 calories, 18 cups of water to prepare all of it and a 30-Year Taste Guarantee.

Watch out: Amazon groups several Mountain House kits in one listing; pick the Classic, 24 servings.

See options on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

Questions people ask

Are emergency food kits worth it?
They store for years and need only water; judge them by calories per person per day rather than serving counts.
How many calories are in a 72-hour emergency food kit?
ReadyWise's 30-serving kit lists 5,460 calories, 1,820 per day for three days.
How much water do emergency food kits need?
ReadyWise lists about 30 cups for its 72 Hour kit; Mountain House about 7.5 gallons for its 30-Day kit.
How long do emergency food kits last?
Makers claim up to 25 years (ReadyWise) and a 30-Year Taste Guarantee (Mountain House) for sealed packages.

Sources

Sources checked 2026-10-15.