Get the Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap: UL certified, five layers, a 1000-denier coated shell and a wrap that stays put. Amazon stocks the 40/42 length; for shorter legs, get the Notch in 32 or 36 inches.
Top pick: Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap$137.99 at AmazonPrice as of Oct 22, 2026, 3:25 AM EDT
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
How the four chaps score
Our spec score runs every pair through the same nine checks from the makers’ own pages: certification, standards named, protective layers, shell, wrap, waist range, length choices, pocket and care instructions. The method is at the bottom of the page.
Plain Prepper spec score out of 10, from each maker’s product page and Amazon brand listing, read Oct 22, 2026. It is not a customer rating or a cut test.
UL certified; meets ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1 and OSHA 1910.266
1000-denier polyester shell with PVC coating
Apron wrap design with felling wedge and gear pocket
Husqvarna publishes wash instructions
Cons
Only the 40/42 length is in stock on Amazon
Waist adjusts to 42 in, not 48
Five layers, against eight on the Oregon
5 TEK WARP layers1000D PVC-coated shellApron wrapWaist to 42 in36/38 and 40/42 lengthsWedge and gear pocketAcetal Delrin bucklesUL certified
Buy it if
You’re 6 feet or taller, cut regularly through brush and limbs, and want the heaviest shell here on a pair of chaps that wraps the leg.
Skip it if
Your waist-to-boot measurement is under about 38 inches. Get the Husqvarna Functional or the Notch in your size.
The Husqvarna Technical Apron Wrap is the pair we’d buy for most people who run a saw often. It scores 9.0, the top of our four. Husqvarna calls it an apron wrap chap, and it’s the only pick here built that way; the other three are frontal aprons.
The protection is five layers of Husqvarna’s TEK WARP material under the shell. Husqvarna describes it as a pull-apart design: when a running chain touches the chaps, the fibers pull out and clog the saw’s sprocket, which slows or stops the chain. That’s the same idea the U.S. Forest Service describes for its own chaps, where pad fibers jam the drive sprocket.
The shell is where this pair beats Husqvarna’s own Functional model. It’s 1000-denier polyester with a PVC coating, against 600-denier on the Functional, the Notch and the Oregon. The Forest Service’s guide says a damaged shell lets bar oil soak into the pad, and oil acts like glue that cuts protection. A tougher outer layer is the first defense against that.
On paper, it’s the most complete pair here. Husqvarna says it meets ASTM F1897 and ANSI Z133.1, is UL certified, and meets OSHA regulation 1910.266. Its three named standards tie the Functional for the most here, and the shell and wrap put it on top. It also has a felling wedge and gear pocket and Acetal Delrin buckles, and the waist adjusts up to 42 inches.
Length is the catch. Husqvarna makes it in 36/38 and 40/42, measured from waist to ankle. On Amazon, the 40/42 is the size that was in stock when we checked; the 36/38 listing had no offer. If your measurement is under about 38 inches, the 40/42 will run long, so use our length finder first.
Care is simple and written down. Husqvarna says to wash in cold water with mild detergent, hang to dry, and never use chlorine bleach. The Forest Service gives the same warning about bleach, which it says lowers cut-through protection.
UL certified to ASTM F1897-20; meets OSHA 1910-266
Three lengths: 32, 36 and 40 in
Waist belt adjusts from 28 to 48 in
Hi-vis orange with a wedge pocket
Cons
Sold on Amazon by an arborist dealer, not Amazon.com
Hand wash only
600-denier shell
5 layers600D Oxford shellType A frontalWaist 28 to 48 in32, 36, 40 in lengthsVelcro wedge pocket1 in leg strapsUL certified
Buy it if
You’re shorter or taller than average, or your waist is over 42 inches, and you want a size made for your measurement instead of one size cinched to fit.
Skip it if
You want a wrap design or the toughest shell. The Husqvarna Technical has both.
The Notch Apron Style chaps are the pick for getting the fit right. They score 8.5. Notch makes them in three lengths, Medium at 32 inches, Large at 36 and X-Large at 40, measured on the outseam from the top of the waistband. No other pick here offers three.
The waist range is the widest of the four. Notch’s two-inch belt adjusts from 28 to 48 inches, and the legs close with one-inch straps and quick snap fasteners. There’s also an optional folding waistband with buttons. The Forest Service says snug chaps stay positioned correctly on your legs, and straps you can tighten are how you get there.
Notch says the chaps are UL certified to ASTM F1897-20 and meet OSHA’s 1910-266 leg protection standard. Its product page spells the standard F1987 in two places; the Amazon listing and the standard itself are F1897. The coverage is what Notch calls Type A: ankle to crotch, on the front of the leg.
Inside are five layers of what Notch calls technical lightweight chain-stopping material, a poly and polypropylene blend. The shell is 600-denier Oxford polyester, water and oil resistant. On the front, a left-side Velcro pocket holds a felling wedge. The color is hi-vis safety orange, which makes you easier to see in the brush.
It drops behind the Husqvarna Technical on three checks. The shell is 600-denier, not 1000. It’s a frontal apron, not a wrap. And Notch names two standards, not three. Care is hand wash only, hang to dry, with no bleach or harsh detergent, per Notch.
When we checked, the Amazon seller was SHERRILLtree, an arborist supply dealer. All three sizes were new and in stock when we checked. Pick your size with our length finder; Notch says to measure the outseam from the top of the waistband.
UL certified; meets ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1 and OSHA 1910.266
36/38 length in stock on Amazon
Felling wedge pocket and Delrin buckles
Same wash instructions as the Technical
Cons
600-denier shell, not 1000
Frontal apron only
Amazon listing’s size line disagrees with Husqvarna
5 TEK WARP layers600D PVC-coated shellFrontal apronWaist to 42 in36/38 and 40/42 lengthsWedge pocketAcetal Delrin bucklesUL certified
Buy it if
Your waist-to-boot measurement is 36 to 38 inches and you want Husqvarna’s certifications from a pair Amazon.com sells in that length.
Skip it if
Your waist is over 42 inches. The Notch goes to 48 and the Oregon to 46.
The Husqvarna Functional Apron is the pair to get if you want Husqvarna and your legs are average length. It scores 8.4. Husqvarna sells it in 36/38 and 40/42, and the 36/38 is the size that was in stock on Amazon, which fills the gap the Technical leaves on Amazon.
Husqvarna describes it as a five-layer frontal apron chap: 600-denier polyester with a PVC coating over TEK WARP protective layers. It has a felling wedge pocket and Acetal Delrin buckles, and the waist adjusts up to 42 inches. It names the same standards as the Technical: ASTM F1897, ANSI Z133.1, UL certified, and OSHA 1910.266.
Against the Technical it gives up two things. The shell is 600-denier rather than 1000, and the cut is a frontal apron rather than an apron wrap. Both cost points on our score; neither changes the certification. If you mostly cut firewood in the open, a frontal apron covers the front of both legs, and that’s what you’re paying for.
That point is worth knowing. Because people run the saw with the right hand, the Forest Service says most chain contact injuries are on the left leg, and its own redesign added coverage on the left side of each leg. Look at how a pair sits on your left thigh when you try it on.
One thing to check before you order. The Amazon listing says the waist adjusts to 38 inches with a 32-inch inseam, while Husqvarna’s page says the waist goes to 42 and the 36/38 length runs from waist to ankle. We go by Husqvarna’s own page. If your waist is near 40, the Notch gives you more room.
Care matches the Technical: cold water, mild detergent, hang to dry, and never chlorine bleach. Husqvarna lists the Functional as fitting its chainsaws from the 120 to the 460 Rancher and the Power Axe battery saws.
8 layers600D Oxford shellFrontal apronWaist to 46 in36 in, snap-adjustableMachine washable3.35 lb boxedUL classified
Buy it if
You want the most layers on this page, a waist up to 46 inches, and chaps you can put through the washing machine.
Skip it if
Your waist-to-boot measurement is over 36 inches. One size won’t reach; get the Notch XL or Husqvarna 40/42.
The Oregon 563979 is the simple one-size pair. It scores 7.7. Oregon makes saw chain and bars, and its product page lists these as one-size protective apron chaps with a 36-inch universal length and a waist that adjusts up to 46 inches.
It has the most layers here: eight layers of breathable warp-knit protective mesh, against five on the Husqvarna and Notch pairs. Layer counts aren’t a straight measure of protection, because makers use different materials. A tree-care trainer writing in TCIA’s magazine describes two families, long tech fibers that catch the chain and bulk batting that clogs the sprocket. Still, eight layers scores highest on our layer check.
Oregon says the chaps are UL classified to F1897-20; its page calls it ANSI F1897-20, and the standard is ASTM’s. That’s the only standard Oregon names, so it scores lowest on our standards check. The shell is 600-denier Oxford, which Oregon calls soft but durable.
Care is the reason to pick it. Oregon says the chaps are machine washable for repeated use. That’s the opposite of Husqvarna and Notch, who say hang dry and hand wash, and of the Forest Service’s rule for its own chaps. Follow the label on the pair you own. The TCIA trainer’s advice is to wash chaps so the inner material fluffs back up.
One size has limits. The 36-inch length shortens with snaps at the top, and Oregon doesn’t say by how much. If your measurement is over 36 inches, it won’t reach 2 inches below your boot tops, the Forest Service’s fit rule. Oregon doesn’t list a wedge pocket, which costs it 5 points.
Oregon lists the boxed weight at 3.35 lb. None of the other makers publish a weight, so we can’t compare it.
Side-by-side
Every spec comes from the maker’s product page or its Amazon brand listing. Scroll sideways on a phone.
All four are apron-style chaps you wear over your work trousers, and all four makers say they’re UL certified or classified to ASTM F1897.
Find the length that fits you
The Forest Service says chaps should reach 2 inches below your boot tops. Measure from your waist to that point, then pick it below. Each maker measures length from the top of the waistband down.
Sizes from Husqvarna, Notch and Oregon product pages, read Oct 22, 2026. Husqvarna measures from waist to ankle and Notch on the outseam from the top of the waistband.
Measure in the boots you’ll cut in. Stand straight, run a tape from the top of your belt line down the outside of your leg to 2 inches below the boot top, and round up.
Forester’s sizing chart, from a brand we left out below, gives a rough check: its 35 to 37 inch Regular fits most people from 5 ft 4 in to 6 ft, and its 38 to 40 inch Long fits most from 6 ft to 6 ft 4 in.
Too short leaves your shin bare where the chain can reach. OSHA’s logging rule, written for employers, says leg protection must cover the full length of the thigh to the top of the boot. Too long and the hem catches on brush or your boot laces. A flip belt or snaps can take up a small gap, but neither fixes a size that’s wrong by four inches.
How chaps stop a chain
Chaps don’t deflect a chain like armor. The fibers inside pull out, wrap the chain and jam the saw’s drive sprocket, which slows or stops it.
Chain speed each design of the U.S. Forest Service’s own chaps resisted without cutting through, from its 2004 guide. These are Forest Service chaps, not our picks.
The Forest Service has issued chaps to its sawyers since 1965 and tracked chain contact injuries since.
Its 2004 guide tells the story in one chart. The first four-layer ballistic nylon pad resisted a chain at 1,800 feet per minute; a Kevlar pad in 1981 raised that to 2,500 and cut the weight by 40 percent; the 2000 redesign reached 3,200 and added coverage on the left side of each leg.
The Forest Service describes how it works: fibers of the pad are pulled into the saw’s drive sprocket, causing the saw to jam. Husqvarna describes its TEK WARP chaps the same way, as a pull-apart design that clogs the sprocket.
The outer shell isn’t the part that stops a chain; the TCIA trainer notes the cover isn’t cut resistant. Its job is to keep oil, sawdust and water away from the layers underneath.
What chaps do
Slow or stop a running chain on contact, so a cut is shallower. The TCIA trainer calls them more like a bandage than a bulletproof shield.
What they don’t do
Stop a chain you keep pushing into them. The same trainer says that if you keep pushing, the saw keeps cutting. The protection assumes you let go of the trigger.
Never test them
The Forest Service says not to use chaps as a chain stop. Every cut, even a nick, shortens the fibers that do the stopping.
Frontal apron vs apron wrap
Every pick covers the front of both legs from the waist toward the ankle. The Husqvarna Technical adds a wrap around the lower leg; the other three are frontal aprons held on with leg straps.
Our drawing, front view, simplified. The lighter band marks the lower-leg wrap on the Husqvarna Technical; shapes vary by maker.
Style
Covers
Our picks
Good for
Frontal apron
Front of both legs, waist toward the ankle; open back
Notch, Husqvarna Functional, Oregon
Quick on and off over work trousers; firewood in the open
Apron wrap
Same front panel; Husqvarna’s photo shows it wrapping the lower leg
Husqvarna Technical
Brush and limbing, where a loose hem snags
Chainsaw pants
Sewn-in protection as full trousers
None here
All-day pros; hotter, and sized like trousers
Notch calls its frontal coverage Type A: ankle to crotch, on the front. The back of the leg is open on every apron chap, which is why they’re cooler and quicker to put on than chainsaw pants.
The wrap matters for fit as much as coverage. The Forest Service says chaps should be snug so they stay positioned correctly on the legs; a panel that wraps the calf can’t swing around to the side when you kneel or climb over a log.
What “UL certified to ASTM F1897” means
Four labels show up on chaps. One is the test standard, one is who checked it, and two are workplace rules. Look for the first two on the tag inside the chaps.
Label
What it is
On our picks
ASTM F1897
ASTM’s specification for leg protection for chain saw users: minimum design, performance, testing and certification requirements
All four; Forester’s listing says it meets the 2008 edition
UL certified or classified
An outside lab, UL, has certified the product to the standard, rather than the maker saying it meets it
Husqvarna, Notch, Oregon; not claimed by Forester
OSHA 1910.266
U.S. logging rule: employers must give chain saw operators cut-resistant leg protection from thigh to boot top
Husqvarna, Notch; Forester
ANSI Z133.1
The tree-care industry’s safety standard for arborist work
Husqvarna only
Count of ASTM F1897, OSHA 1910.266 and ANSI Z133 named on each maker’s page or brand listing, read Oct 22, 2026.
The ASTM abstract says the standard covers fit and flexibility as well as cut resistance: garments have to let you move normally and keep working through seasonal weather. That’s why certified chaps aren’t just thick. Where a label says “meets ASTM F1897” with no UL mark, the maker is speaking for itself. We give full points only for the outside certification.
The Forest Service writes its own specification for the chaps it issues, MTDC 6170-4.
Do chaps work with battery chainsaws?
Nobody has a rating for it yet. Chaps work by jamming the sprocket, and one maker warns an electric motor’s torque may drive through that jam.
Source
What it says about electric and battery saws
Forester (left out)
Its chaps “are not suitable protection for use with electric chainsaws, due to the high-torque nature of electric motors”
TCIA magazine, Jan 2022
A trainer says there’s no rating for electric saws because the tests haven’t been done; in his demonstration, battery saws were stopped by the material
Husqvarna, Notch, Oregon
Their chaps pages don’t mention electric or battery saws
Husqvarna fit list
Lists the Functional chaps as fitting its Power Axe 350i and 225i battery saws, with no further claim
Here’s how we read it. Chaps stop a chain by jamming the sprocket, and Forester’s worry is that an electric motor’s torque can keep driving through that jam. The TCIA trainer’s demonstration says chaps still slowed and stopped battery saws, but he also says no standard tests for it.
So wear chaps with a battery saw; they still put layers between the chain and your leg. Let go of the trigger the moment something goes wrong, and keep the chain brake working.
Layers, shell and what they tell you
More layers usually means more fiber to catch the chain, but the material matters too, so read layer counts as one clue, not the answer.
Layer counts as each maker states them, read Oct 22, 2026. Materials differ, so this is not a protection ranking.
Chaps
Protective layers
Shell
Husqvarna Technical
5 layers TEK WARP
1000-denier polyester, PVC coating
Husqvarna Functional
5 layers TEK WARP
600-denier polyester, PVC coating
Notch Apron
5 layers poly/polypropylene
600-denier Oxford polyester, water and oil resistant
Oregon 563979
8 layers warp knit
600-denier Oxford
Forester 437 (left out)
4 ply
Oxford polyester, denier not stated; water and oil resistant
Denier is the weight of the yarn in the shell; a higher number is a heavier, tougher weave. The shell doesn’t stop the chain, but the Forest Service says holes in it let bar oil soak the pad, and oil acts as an adhesive that holds the fibers in place. That’s the case for a coated, heavier shell if you work in oily, brushy conditions.
The pad inside is what matters most, and makers describe it differently. The Forest Service’s own chaps use five Kevlar layers, woven and felted. Notch’s five layers are a polyester and polypropylene blend. Oregon uses eight layers of warp knit. None publish a cut speed for the pairs here, so we score the certification, not a speed.
How to wash chainsaw chaps
Follow your maker’s label. The four we checked don’t agree on the washing machine, but they all say no bleach.
Maker
Wash
Dry
Never
Husqvarna
Cold water, mild detergent
Hang to dry
Chlorine bleach
Notch
Hand wash only
Hang to dry
Bleach or harsh detergent
Oregon
Machine washable
Not stated
Not stated
Forest Service (its own chaps)
Hose and brush, then a citrus cleaner
Line dry
Machine wash or dry, bleach, pressure washer
Washing isn’t optional. The Forest Service says oil and dirt deposits that won’t come out leave chaps with much less protection. The TCIA trainer adds that chaps stuffed into a truck dirty and folded get matted, and matted fibers have less loft to grab a chain; washing lets the inner material fluff back up.
Keep them away from fuel and bar oil between uses. Repair shell cuts quickly, the Forest Service says, so sawdust and oil stay out of the pad, but never stitch through the protective layers.
When to replace a pair
The Forest Service’s guide for its own chaps lists when to retire them. It’s the clearest checklist we found, and it applies to any pair.
Holes and cuts in the shell
Numerous holes let bar oil reach the pad, and oil reduces protection.
Sawdust inside
Wood chips and sawdust in the layers at the bottom of the chaps.
Stitched repairs
Patches sewn through the pad stop the fibers moving, which lowers cut-through protection.
Wrong cleaning
Bleach or a pressure washer. The Forest Service says high-pressure washing destroys the pad.
Caked oil and dirt
Deposits that won’t come out with cleaning. Tested chaps like this gave much less protection.
A cut in the pad
On Forest Service chaps, a cut over 1 inch in the first yellow Kevlar layer. On any chaps, a chain that reached the pad.
After any chain contact, look inside. If the fibers pulled out and jammed the saw, the chaps did their job and they’re done. The TCIA trainer explains why: those fibers run the full length of the leg, and once they’re cut short there’s less length to catch the next chain.
The rest of your chainsaw kit
Chaps protect your legs. OSHA’s logging rule lists what else employers must provide to people who run a saw, and it’s a good homeowner checklist too.
Gear
OSHA 1910.266 says
Our guide
Leg protection
Cut-resistant, full length of the thigh to the top of the boot
This page
Boots
Heavy-duty, supporting the ankle; cut-resistant for chain saw operators
None yet
Head
Where there’s potential for injury from falling or flying objects
None yet
Eyes and face
Eye protection where objects can fly; logger mesh screens allowed
None yet
First aid
A first-aid kit at each site where trees are being cut
Hearing protection belongs on that list for any gas saw; our earmuff guide covers passive and electronic muffs. Work gloves with a good grip help too; see our Mechanix gloves guide.
A tourniquet belongs in the first-aid kit by the woodpile. The TCIA trainer points out that the femoral arteries on the inside of each thigh are as big as your thumb, and a cut there can bleed out in about three and a half to four minutes.
Chaps we checked and left out
These are chaps people search for. Each one missed our 7.0 floor or a basic check, so we don’t recommend them here.
Chaps
Score
What held it back
What it does well
Forester 437 apron chaps (CHAP437-O)
6.5
Says it meets ASTM F1897-2008 with no UL mark; 4 ply; shell denier and care instructions not published; Forester says not for electric saws
Three lengths, a 2 in flip belt, a pocket and a height chart
STIHL protective chaps (0000 886 3905)
Left out before scoring
Sold by a third party, and the listing gives only length and waist; STIHL’s US chaps page wasn’t reachable to check
36 in length, 30 to 42 in waist
Zelarman 8-layer apron chaps
Left out before scoring
Little-known brand with no maker page to check, and only 6 left in stock
8 layers, per the listing
Yardmaris Technical Wrap chaps
Left out before scoring
Little-known brand; claims come from the listing only
Wrap design, 8 layers, per the listing
How to choose chainsaw chaps
1
Check the tag
Look for UL certified or classified to ASTM F1897, not just “meets”.
2
Measure your length
Waist to 2 inches below your boot top, in your work boots.
3
Check the waist
Husqvarna goes to 42 in, Oregon 46, Notch 48.
4
Pick the style
Frontal apron for quick on and off; apron wrap if loose hems snag in brush.
5
Look at the shell
A coated, heavier shell keeps oil and sawdust out of the pad.
6
Read the care label
Machine wash, hand wash or hang dry: you’ll do it often.
Leg protection you wear over your trousers when running a chainsaw. Layers of long fibers under a tough shell pull out on contact with a running chain and jam the saw’s sprocket, which slows or stops the chain.
What are chainsaw chaps made of?
A shell of polyester or nylon, often coated against oil and water, over several layers of protective fiber. Husqvarna uses five TEK WARP layers, Notch five layers of a polyester and polypropylene blend, Oregon eight layers of warp knit, and the Forest Service’s own chaps five Kevlar layers.
Are chainsaw chaps necessary?
For loggers, OSHA requires employers to provide cut-resistant leg protection to anyone running a saw. For homeowners there’s no law, but the risk is the same: the femoral arteries run down the inside of each thigh, and the Forest Service says its chaps have prevented thousands of serious injuries.
Do chainsaw chaps work with battery chainsaws?
There’s no rating for it yet. Forester says its chaps aren’t suitable for electric saws because of their high torque. A TCIA trainer reports that battery saws were stopped by chaps in his demonstration. Wear them, and let go of the trigger at once.
How should chainsaw chaps fit?
Snug, so they stay in place, and long enough to reach 2 inches below your boot tops, per the Forest Service. Our length finder shows which size of each pick fits your measurement.
Can you wash chainsaw chaps?
Yes, and you should. Follow the label: Husqvarna says cold water, mild detergent and hang dry; Notch says hand wash only; Oregon says machine washable. All say no bleach.
When should you replace chainsaw chaps?
After any chain cut into the pad, or when the shell has many holes, sawdust is inside, oil won’t wash out, or someone has stitched a patch through the pad. Those are the Forest Service’s retirement rules.
Are chainsaw chaps snake proof?
None of the four makers we checked claim snake protection. They’re certified for chain contact only. If snakes are your worry, look for gaiters or chaps sold and tested as snake protection.
Chaps or chainsaw pants?
Chaps go on over your trousers in seconds and leave the back of the leg open, so they’re cooler. Chainsaw pants have the protection sewn in; they suit people who cut all day. For firewood and storm cleanup, apron chaps are the usual choice.
How we pick, and how the score works
Why trust us
Plain Prepper is owned and edited by Isaac Daniels. Every spec on this page comes from the maker’s own product page or its Amazon brand listing, and the fit, care and retirement advice from the U.S. Forest Service, OSHA and the Tree Care Industry Association, named in the sources below. We don’t run cut tests, so we never present a number as measured by us.
Prices and photos come from Amazon and show the time they were read.
How we pick
Apron-style chainsaw chaps from well-known brands.
Specs read from the maker, not from other review sites.
Each Amazon listing checked as genuine, new and in stock the day we published.
Every product checked against CPSC recalls; we found no chaps recalls.
Every pick scores 7.0 or better.
How the spec score is calculated
We read nine facts from each maker and put every pair of chaps through the same table below. Weighting those lines gives the score out of 10. Customers’ stars and cut tests play no part.
Where a maker doesn’t state a feature, it scores 0 on that line. Layer counts are scored as stated, even though materials differ, and we say so above.
Check
Weight
How it’s scored
Certification
25%
10 if the maker says UL certified or classified to ASTM F1897; 6 if it says “meets” only
Standards named
10%
Number of ASTM F1897, OSHA 1910.266 and ANSI Z133 named ÷ 3 × 10
Protective layers
15%
Stated layers ÷ 8 × 10
Shell
10%
10 for 1000-denier coated; 7 for 600-denier; 5 if not stated
Wrap
10%
10 for an apron wrap; 7 for a frontal apron
Waist range
10%
Largest waist ÷ 48 in × 10
Length choices
10%
10 for three or more lengths, 7 for two, 5 for one
Pocket
5%
10 if the maker lists a wedge or gear pocket, else 0
Care instructions
5%
10 if the maker publishes washing instructions, else 0
Sources
Husqvarna, Technical Apron Wrap Chainsaw Chaps (587 16 07-04, 587 16 07-05) and Functional Apron Chainsaw Chaps (587 16 07-02, 587 16 07-03) product pages, husqvarna.com, read Oct 22, 2026: layers, shell, buckles, pocket, waist, sizes, standards, care, fit list.
Notch Equipment, Apron Style Chainsaw Chaps product page, notchequipment.com, read Oct 22, 2026: layers, shell, Type A coverage, waist, lengths, straps, certification; Notch brand listings on Amazon (CCHAPR-M, -L, -XL): care.
U.S. Forest Service, Missoula Technology and Development Center, “Inspecting, Cleaning, Repairing, and Retiring USDA Forest Service Chain Saw Chaps” (0451-2324P-MTDC, May 2004): chain speed history, how chaps work, left-leg injuries, fit, retirement, cleaning, repairs.
OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.266 Logging operations, osha.gov, read Oct 22, 2026: leg, foot, head and eye protection and first-aid kits.
ASTM International, F1897-20 Standard Specification for Leg Protection for Chain Saw Users, abstract and scope, store.astm.org, read Oct 22, 2026.
Travis Vickerson, “Selecting Cut-Resistant Leg Protection,” Tree Care Industry magazine (TCIA), January 2022: how fibers stop a chain, battery saws, washing, femoral artery.
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall database (saferproducts.gov API), searched Oct 22, 2026 for chaps and chainsaw chaps.
Amazon product data through Amazon’s Creators API (prices, sellers, stock, photos), refreshed daily; each price shows the time it was read.